The DAIS conference series addresses all practical and conceptual aspects of 
distributed applications, including their design, modeling, implementation 
and operation, the supporting middleware, appropriate software engineering
methodologies and tools, as well as experimental studies and applications. 
Submissions will be judged on their originality, significance, clarity,
relevance, and technical correctness.

The topics of interest to the conference include, but are not limited to:

Novel and innovative distributed applications and systems, particularly in the 
areas of:

    cloud, edge and fog computing,
    big data processing,
    streaming and complex event processing,
    distributed social networking,
    IoT and cyber-physical systems,
    mobile computing,
    advanced networking (SDN/NFV),
    micro-services and service-oriented computing,
    peer-to-peer systems, and
    data center and internet-scale systems.

Novel architectures and mechanisms, particularly in the areas of

    publish/subscribe systems,
    epidemic protocols,
    language-based approaches,
    virtualization and resource allocation,
    distributed storage,
    trusted execution environments,
    blockchains, cryptocurrencies and smart contracts, and
    distributed consensus mechanisms.

System issues and design goals, including

    interoperability and adaptation,
    self-* properties (e.g., self-organization, self-management,…),
    security and practical applications of cryptography,
    trust and privacy,
    cooperation incentives and fairness,
    fault-tolerance and dependability,
    scalability and elasticity, and
    tail-performance and energy-efficiency.


All papers must be original, unpublished, and not submitted for publication 
elsewhere. DAIS 2021 offers three submission tracks:

* Full research papers in no more than 15 pages + 2 pages references.
* Full practical experience reports, including experimental and evaluation studies,
  case studies, and practice reports in no more than 15 pages + 2 pages references.
* Work-in-progress papers, describing ongoing work and interim results, in no more 
  than 6 pages + 2 pages references.

Contributions should be submitted electronically as PDF, using the Springer LNCS style 
to the conference submission website ( 
Each paper will undergo a thorough process of peer reviews by the Program Committee. 
Reviewing is single-blind: author name(s) should appear. All papers accepted in any of 
the conference tracks will be included in the conference proceedings, which will be 
published by Springer-Verlag in the LNCS series. Proceedings will be made available at
the conference. Submission implies that at least one author will register and attend 
the conference if the paper is accepted.


* February 12, 2021 - Abstract submission
* February 19, 2021 - Paper submission
* April 2, 2021 - Notification of accepted papers
* April 23, 2021 - Camera-ready papers


* Fabíola Greve, Federal University of Bahia, Brazil 
* Miguel Matos, University of Lisboa & INESC-ID, Portugal

Program Committee
* Eduardo Alchieri, Universidade de Brasília, Brazil
* Pierre-Louis Aublin, Keio University, Japan
* Silvia Bonomi, Università degli Studi di Roma “La Sapienza”, Italy
* Damiano Di Francesco Maesa, University of Cambridge, UK
* Davide Frey, INRIA, France
* Paula Herber, University of Münster, Germany
* Mark Jelasity, University of Szeged, Hungary
* Vana Kalogeraki, Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece
* Evangelia Kalyvianaki, University of Cambridge, UK
* Fábio Kon, University of São Paulo
* João Leitão, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
* Daniel Lucani, Aarhus University, Denmark
* Kostas Magoutis, University of Ioannina, Greece
* Hein	Meling, University of Stavanger, Norway
* Claudio Antares Mezzina, University Urbino, Italy
* Alberto Montresor, University of Trento, Italy
* Daniel O’Keeffe, Royal Holloway University of London, England
* Emanuel Onica, Alexandru Ioan Cuza University of Iasi, Romania
* Marta Patino, Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain
* José Orlando Pereira, Universidade do Minho & INESC TEC, Portugal
* Hans P. Reiser, University Passau, Germany
* Romain Rouvoy, University of Lille 1, France
* Valerio Schiavoni, University of Neuchâtel, Switzerland
* Pierre Sutra, Telecom SudParis, France
* Roman Vitenberg, University of Oslo, Norway
* Spyros Voulgaris, Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece