ACM SIGMOD Awards Committee is pleased to announce the winners of the 2017 ACM SIGMOD Awards:

SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award:
The SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award is for innovative and highly significant contributions of enduring value to the development, understanding, or use of data management systems. 

Goetz Graefe is the recipient of the 2017 ACM SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award for his foundational contributions to the architecture and implementation of database query optimizers. 

Previous winners of the Innovations Award are: Michael Stonebraker (1992), James Gray (1993), Philip Bernstein (1994), David DeWitt (1995), C. Mohan (1996), David Maier (1997), Serge Abiteboul (1998), Hector Garcia-Molina (1999), Rakesh Agrawal (2000), Rudolf Bayer (2001), Patricia Selinger (2002), Donald Chamberlin (2003), Ronald Fagin (2004), Michael Carey (2005), Jeffrey Ullman (2006), Jennifer Widom (2007), Moshe Vardi (2008), Masaru Kitsuregawa (2009), Umeshwar Dayal (2010), Surajit Chaudhuri (2011), Bruce Lindasy (2012), Stefano Ceri (2013), Martin Kersten (2014), Laura Haas (2015), and Gerhard Weikum (2016).

SIGMOD Contributions Award: 
The SIGMOD Contributions Award is for outstanding services to the data management field through new community initiatives, professional services, standards activities, and research funding. 

Yannis E. Ioannidis is the recipient of the 2017 ACM SIGMOD Contributions Award for his sustained leadership and dedicated service to the database community, especially as part of the SIGMOD Executive Committee and the VLDB Endowment.

Previous winners of the Contributions Award are: Maria Zemankova (1992), Gio Wiederhold (1993), Yahiko Kambayashi (1995), Jeffrey Ullman (1996), Avi Silberschatz (1997), Won Kim (1998), Raghu Ramakrishnan (1999), Laura Haas and Michael Carey (2000), Daniel Rosenkrantz (2001), Richard Snodgrass (2002), Michael Ley (2003), Surajit Chaudhuri (2004), Hongjun Lu (2005), Tamer Ozsu (2006), Hans-Joerg Schek (2007), Klaus Dittrich (2008), Beng Chin Ooi (2009), David Lomet (2010), Gerhard Weikum (2011), Marianne Winslett (2012), H.V. Jagadish (2013), Kyu-Young Whang (2014), Curtis Dyreson (2015), and Samuel Madden (2016).

SIGMOD Test-of-time Award:
The Test-of-Time award is given to a paper from the SIGMOD Proceedings that appeared 10, 11, or 12 years ago (i.e., from SIGMOD 2005, SIGMOD 2006, or SIGMOD 2007) that has had significant influence since its publication. (Note that up until last year this award was given to a paper that appeared exactly 10 years ago in SIGMOD). 

 “Fault-tolerance in the Borealis distributed stream processing system”, by Magdalena Balazinska, Hari Balakrishnan, Samuel Madden, Michael Stonebraker (SIGMOD 2005) is the winner of the 2017 Test of Time Award. 

The awards will be presented at the 2017 SIGMOD/PODS Conference in Chicago http://sigmod2017.org/  Congratulations to all the winners!

2017 SIGMOD Awards Committee
Surajit Chaudhuri, Microsoft (Chair)
David Dewitt, MIT
Martin Kersten, CWI
Maurizio Lenzerini, Sapienza University of Rome
Jennifer Widom, Stanford University