On behalf of the ER Institute and the ER Steering Committee, I am pleased to announce that Prof. Antonio Luz Furtado is the winner of the 2014 Peter P. Chen Award.

Initiated by Elsevier in 2008 to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the journal Data and Knowledge Engineering , the Peter P. Chen Award honors one person each year for his or her outstanding contributions to the field of conceptual modeling. Antonio Luz Furtado will receive a plaque and check for US $2500 sponsored by Elsevier Publishing Company.

The criteria for the Award are:

Research: how well the nominee has helped advance the field of conceptual modeling with his/her intellectual contributions. 
Service: participation in the organization of conceptual-modeling-related meetings and conferences and participation in editorial boards of conceptual-modeling-related journals. 
Education: how effectively the nominee has mentored doctoral students in conceptual modeling and produced researchers from their labs and also helped mentor other young people in the field. 
Contribution to practice: the extent to which the nominee has contributed to technology transfer, commercialization, and industrial projects. 
International reputation: the extent to which the nominee's work is visible to and has diffused into the international community. 

This year the selection committee has consisted of the following five people:
Carlo Batini (Università degli Studi di Milano-Bicocca, Italy), Stefano Spaccapietra (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland),  Lois Delcambre (Portland State University, USA), Alberto Laender (Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil), and Antoni Olivé (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya).

The previous winners of the Peter P. Chen Award are:

2013 Prof. Carlo Batini, Università degli Studi di Milano-Bicocca, Italy
2012 Prof. Stefano Spaccapietra, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
2011 Prof. Tok Wang Ling, National University of Singapore, Singapore
2010 Prof. John Mylopoulos, University of Trento, Italy
2009 Prof. David Embley, BYU, USA
2008 Prof. Bernhard Thalheim, University of Kiel, Germany

(More information about this award can be found at www.conceptualmodeling.org.)